Last month, on my birthday, my wife gifted me two books, The Wealth of Nations by Adam Smith and I’m Just Here for the Food: Food + Heat = Cooking by Alton Brown.

We often gift books to each other and I always remember to drop a hint as to which titles I want.

I have been planning to read a book on general economics and while looking for a suitable book, I came upon Adam Smith’s book. Although the book was first published in 1776, it is still considered one of the most influential books in the field of economics. Coupled with my interests in history, this book was an ideal choice.

Alton Brown’s Good Eats is probably the only TV show I like. I like his sense of humour and his style of explaining the science behind the food and cooking process. From the little I have read, from the “Look Inside” feature of amazon.com, I believe the book will be similar. It doesn’t look like your ordinary recipe book. To show what I mean, here’s a quote from the Poached Eggs page:

The older the eggs, the more “thin” albumen there’s going to be. This is the part of the egg that feathers out creating something that looks more like a Portuguese man of war than a pouch. The vinegar will help a bit by coagulating any proteins it finds wandering about, but you’ll still be better off poaching the freshest eggs you can get your hands on…

