This morning we made our annual visit to San Jose Rose garden. We like to go in early April, but this year the wait for a cloudless morning delayed us. Even today the morning was cloudy, but to it wasn’t possible to wait much longer. A number of roses were past their prime.

For photography, I decided to stick to my Sigme 70-300 APO lens. Last year I had gotten better photographs with this lens. I also took a writing board and some colored construction paper with me. The intention was to use the paper as backdrop to the rose.

I got some pretty good photographs. Mostly I tend to try and isolate one rose and try to take a closeup. Towards the end, I tried to keep some colored roses in the backdrop to get a nice colorful bokeh. See a sample here. The gallery is available at http://chimshaw.com/gallery/rosegarden05. Some good photographs are listed below:

