Over the last few weeks, I have been reading some short stories by Graham Greene. I must admit that I do not understand him at all. It is not that I don’t like the stories. I do like some of them. But, after every story I end up with a feeling that I missed something.

But this entry is not about that. Its about a quote from one of the stories, The Innocent

I walked up the hill. The first houses were all new. I resented them. They hid such things as fields and gates I might have remembered. It was like a map which had got wet in the pocket and pieces had stuck together; when you opened it there were whole patches hidden.

I really like how perfectly he has conveyed the feeling. Often when we go to places we hadn’t been to since a long time, new construction or other changes hide old landmarks we remember from old days. These hidden landmarks are like whole patches hidden.

