Some observations while writing JBlogEditor:

Pros

  • Easy to get started.
  • Free window management and layouts.
  • Free toolbar/menu management.
  • Free text editor support with easy coloring and code completion.
  • Excellent plugin mechanism allowing for usage of 3rd party plugin. HTML editor is a good example. I would love to replace the text bases HTML editor with a WYSIWYG HTML editor. Swapping should be a piece of cake.

Cons

  • Lack of adequate documentation. Hunting through the newsgroups on eclipse.org is a pain. Searching eclipse.org through google is a little better.
  • Many plugins are not RCP ready.
  • RCP isn’t as evolved as the Eclipse IDE platform.
  • SWT limitations compared to Swing. (This may be because I come from a Swing background).
  • Size. My plugin is only 1.4MB, but the whole application is 13MB. The extra MBs are because of the numerous plugins I had to bundle. I believe I should be able to reduce this somewhat.
