Few weeks ago I finished reading Churchill: A Life, thanks to all the comfortable chairs in the waiting rooms of the Manipal Hospital.

The book is one of the best biographies I have read. Despite being the biography of a political leader, this is an extremely readable book.

What impresses me about Churchill is the amount of energy he had even in his golden years. Truly impressive.

The Library of Congress has a brief exhibit – Churchill And The Great Republic – which makes for an excellent quick read. In addition to numerous artifacts, there are six sound recordings including the “Finest Hour” speech.

Before I listened to the above mentioned speech, I did not comprehend that his voice would have this kind of depth and intensity. I wonder if written text, in any way, could have given an indication of that.

