This time it is Ubuntu and looks like it is in for the long haul.

After making a new PC two months ago, I decided to try Linux again. Waited for jaunty to be released and started off with Wubi a day after jaunty became officially available.Two days later I got rid of Wubi and installed a new partition for Ubuntu. More than a month later I am happy to stay.

There were some problems with the 64bit thing but not enough to send me back for Windows. I still go back to windows for somethings, but that is on a virtual box. Some stuff I do regularly and how they work on ubuntu

  • uname -a : Linux XXX 2.6.28-11-generic #42-Ubuntu SMP Fri Apr 17 01:58:03 UTC 2009 x86_64 GNU/Linux
  • Web Surfing: Firefox works well for me. Flash sometime crashes but its ok. I hope it will stabilize soon.
  • Office Applications: Google Docs for everything. I do need to open MS Office docs sent as attachment. Open Office works well for those.
  • Finance Apps: I have been using MS Money for years. Used GNUCash for a while, and then moved to KMyMoney because the reporting and overall feel is better.
  • Media: Vlc works as well as on windows.
  • Passwords: KeePassX is a good replacement for KeePass and reads the same fine.
  • Connecting to Work: vpnc is a good replacement for Cisco VPN and rdesktop connects me to work.
  • IM: Pidgin works perfectly. Even on windows I am a pidgin user.
  • Photo Editing: GIMP is good, but not as good a Photoshop. So while GIMP works well for quick editing, I do go to Photoshop often. And that’s where I use Virtual Box. No need to boot into a windows partition.
  • Coding: Played around with eclipse. Though it is not as slick as windows, but ok. Given than I don’t have long coding sessions at home I can live with it. Perhaps it is just a matter of getting used to.
