wpid-img_20141002_075459_159.jpg

A courier this afternoon brought a long search to an end. The packet contained a reprint of  The Himalayan gazetteer by Edwin T Atkinson.

I first read about this book in 1988 referenced in another book I had borrowed from Durga Sah Municipal library in Nainital. A search in the library found the copy missing.

Fast forward to 1993. 1st year in Delhi and 1st visit to Nai Sarak to find this book along with a list of 1st yr books. Several years and several visits later, I still did not have a copy. All the while I kept reading about it – Ruskin Bond, Bill Atkins and many other references

Then I tried the Amazon route. No luck there.

Back in Bangalore, advance to Sapna Book House and few months of wait was futile.

Then while doing  a random search I found the COD optoin at http://www.buybooksindia.com

No harm in trying though I did not have much hope.

But voila the packet appeared in office.

Till I opened the double wrapper and saw the books, I had doubts on them being there.

New copies but kept in some go-down, papers turned yellow, wrinkled but hard bound and fun to hold. A leather binding would have been icing.

