Thoughts and Musing when I can…

Bike Ride: Of Biryani and Waterfalls – Triplog

Trip Date: Dec 20th 2015

After abandoning the biryani plans on last month’s ride, I was eager to make another attempt. I also wanted to checkout a place called Bheema Falls in Jawadhu Hills.

Lily, my dog, was surprised at the early walk and feeding. And before she had finished her meal, I was heading out. The sky was overcast, but there were more open patches than covered.

While the obvious route to Vaniyambadi was via Hosur/Krishnagiri, I exited Bangalore towards Kolar. The plan was to cross through the Kolar Gold Fields (KGF) and join the Krishnagiri-Chennai Highway at Pachur.

At Kolar I turned towards Bangarpet. The clouds soon parted to give a spectacular sunrise.

BikeRideJawadiHills_001
Sunrise among the coconut trees
BikeRideJawadiHills_012
Customary Selfie

After Bangarpet, I recalled a small darshini where I had stopped on one of the previous rides. The place served excellent pongal.

BikeRideJawadiHills_014
Yummy Pongal

Breakfast wrapped up, I headed towards KGF. It was interesting to drive through the town, with its old British style bungalows bordered by large lawns.

BikeRideJawadiHills_026
Entrance to an obscure temple

Soon I reached the Krishnagiri-Chennai highway and turned East. Decided to go to Jawadhu hills first.

BikeRideJawadiHills_027
View from Krishnagiri-Chennai Highway

At Vaniyambadi I got off the highway and onto the back roads. Crisscrossing though the villages, I made my way up to the Jamunamarathur. After asking around and a couple of false leads, I made my way to the falls.

The falls descend in two stages. The 1st stage, is a short fall and ideal for a leisurely bath. The 2nd one is a much deeper plunge.

BikeRideJawadiHills_035
Bheema Falls – Stage 1
BikeRideJawadiHills_038
Bheema Falls – water glow
BikeRideJawadiHills_040
Bheema Falls – bathing arrangements
BikeRideJawadiHills_051
Bheema Falls – Stage 2
BikeRideJawadiHills_064
Bheema Falls – water cascades

There were hardly anyone at the falls. Which is why the place was quite clean. After spending a while at the falls, pangs if hunger started. So I traced my way back to Khaja @Vaniyambadi. The place has been renovated and upper floor with AC is available for patrons.

So I got down to fulfilling the purpose of this ride.

BikeRideJawadiHills_069
The famed Vaniyambadi biryani

After polishing off the last bone, I turned my attention to the route back. The easy option was to follow the toll highway to Krishnagiri and then Hosur and back. The more interesting route would have been over the hills to Venkatagirikota – Kolar and back.

Given the full stomach, I decided to take the easy route back. The ride back was boring to say the least and soon I was back home.

map
Route Map

Trip Stats Distance: 420Km
Start Time: 0515
End Time: 1630
Expenses – Food: 430
Expenses – Fuel: 500

2 responses to “Bike Ride: Of Biryani and Waterfalls – Triplog”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.